Gluten Free Melbourne
The coastal capital of Victoria is one of Australia’s most exciting foodie destinations, so you can rest assured that if you’re travelling to Melbourne on a gluten free diet you won’t be disappointed! Click To Tweet

The coastal capital of Victoria is one of Australia’s most exciting foodie destinations, so you can rest assured that if you’re travelling to Melbourne on a gluten free diet you won’t be disappointed! Here are ten of our favourite restaurants catering for gluten free diets in Melbourne, Australia.

Hooked Fish and Chipper

This Melbourne institution serves up some of the best fish and chip dinners in town, and that includes gluten free fish and chips! Almost all items on the menu can be made gluten free, all you need to do is ask the friendly team and make sure they’re aware of your dietary requirements.

Cafe Andiamo

There are plenty of gluten free options available at this reasonably priced cafe in the Laneways. We particularly liked their gluten free breakfast menu, which includes some very tasty gluten free bread.

Tutto Bene

Tutto Bene translates as “everything’s good” in Italian – and at this Melbourne gluten free restaurant it certainly is! The restaurant serves up some fabulous Italian cuisine, with many items suitable for gluten free travellers.

Carlton Curry House

This Indian restaurant prides itself on its gluten free options; whatever can be made gluten free, is made gluten free. And that includes naan bread. There’s a huge selection of gluten free dishes on the menu here – take your pick.

Gazi

For a premier dining experience with a twist, head to Gazi. This Melbourne gluten free Greek restaurant is ideal for those travelling with specific dietary requirements – everything is cooked fresh and the menu includes plenty of gluten free dishes.

Mamasita

Billed as a coeliac haven, Mamasita has so few items on the menu that aren’t gluten free, that the restaurant’s owners have chosen to highlight those instead. Words sure to fill a gluten free traveller with joy!

Portello Rosso

If you’re in Melbourne and find yourself with a hankering for Spanish food we highly recommend this place. Portello Rosso serves up fresh, delicious and flavoursome Spanish cuisine with plentiful gluten free options available.

Chocolate Buddha

Japanese food is always a good option for gluten free travellers, as many Japanese dishes are naturally gluten free. And at Chocolate Buddha it’s even better, because the team are very knowledgeable about gluten free diets and can guide you through a whole range of delicious Japanese dishes suitable for coeliacs.

The Swiss Bakehouse

Gluten free travellers often miss out when it comes to baked goods, but that’s not the case at the Swiss Bakehouse. This bakery serves a wide range of gluten free goodies, including both sweet and savoury options.

The Cupcake Queens

We’re yet to meet a person who doesn’t love cupcakes, even if you are on a gluten free diet. So, if you’re after a sugar rush that won’t make you unwell make your way to the Cupcake Queens to enjoy a tasty gluten free treat.

Have you visited Melbourne recently and enjoyed a fantastic gluten free dining experience? Why not leave us a comment and let other gluten free travellers in on the secret!

Gluten Free Auckland
If you’re travelling to Auckland soon but you’re worried about where you’ll be able to find safe, delicious gluten free food, you’ve come to the right place. Click To Tweet

Located in New Zealand’s North Island, Auckland is a beautiful city that’s made for exploring. If you’re travelling to Auckland soon but you’re worried about where you’ll be able to find safe, delicious gluten free food, you’ve come to the right place.Here are ten restaurants not to miss when you next visit Auckland.

 

The Grove

Serving up modern cuisine with a French twist, The Grove is a wonderful restaurant for special occasions. The knowledgeable team are happy to help those on gluten free diets, with many dishes suitable for gluten free travellers.

Azabu

Combining Peruvian Japanese Nikkei flavours with Tokyo-style dishes, this lively Auckland restaurant is a must-visit for gluten free travellers. The gluten free options are flavoursome and plentiful, so make sure you book a table.

The French Cafe

This is a highly acclaimed French restaurant offering an abundance of fine dining options for those on a gluten free diet. With a holistic approach to food, the French Cafe offers an exquisite experience.

Mondays

For nourishing, rustic cooking straight from the heart, head over to Mondays in the heart of Auckland. We love this wholefood bar – the menu is almost totally vegetarian and caters for a whole host of different allergies and dietary requirements.

Little Bird Unbakery

Little Bird’s owner Megan was diagnosed with several food allergies early in her life, and is now a pioneer of New Zealand’s organic food movement. The Little Bird cafes focus on raw, organic, vegan, gluten free healthy food.

Blue Elephant Thai

For one of the most authentic Thai dining experiences available in New Zealand, make your way to Blue Elephant in Parnell. Just let the staff know that you’re gluten free and they’ll be able to advise you about all the delicious gluten free options available here.

The Sugar Club

Looking for a room with a view? Well you’ve found it! The Sugar Club is located on floor 53 of the Sky Tower. It’s a chic 1930s-inspired restaurant with a long culinary heritage. If you’re celebrating a special occasion this is the ideal place to go.

Ortolana

A contemporary bistro in Britomart’s Pavilions, Ortolana is another favourite amongst health-food lovers in Auckland. The gluten free options focus on the very best seasonal produce, grown at the restaurant’s own farm.

Orbit

SKYCITY is home to this iconic New Zealand brasserie, which rotates as diners enjoy fantastic views over the city. There are plenty of gluten free options on the kiwi-inspired a la carte menu here, and you even get complimentary Sky Tower admission if you dine here.

Prego Restaurant

If you find yourself with a hankering for comforting Italian fare, Prego is the place to go. This restaurant, on Auckland’s Ponsonby Road, is suitable for gluten free travellers, with a wide range of dishes available to choose from.

 

—-

Are you visiting Auckland soon? Make sure you pay a visit to one of our top ten recommended gluten free restaurants and you’ll be assured of a delicious dining experience. We hope you enjoy it!

 

 

 

Gluten Free Los Angeles
A city filled with health-conscious foodies, Los Angeles is teeming with restaurants specialising in gluten free eats. Click To Tweet

So whether you have coeliac disease or just prefer to avoid gluten, you’ve got plenty of choices when it comes to gluten free restaurants in Los Angeles. From super food joints serving creative vegan cuisine to upscale restaurants offering gourmet breakfasts you’d never believe exist, here are the best places to eat when you’re gluten free in Los Angeles.

Top 5 gluten free restaurants in Los Angeles

Café Gratitude

Address: 639 N. Larchmont Boulevard

Creating exclusively organic vegan cuisine, Café Gratitude is one of the best places to go in LA when you’re feeling a little run down and need a health boost. Although their menu isn’t totally gluten free, there’s a huge selection of gluten free options. For breakfast you can choose between pancakes, banana breads and muffins and for lunch you’re spoilt with salads, wraps and buddha bowls. One of the most popular signature dishes is “I Am Fortified” – a bowl made of quinoa or brown rice, topped with tasty fresh sprouts and vegetables.

M Café

Address: 11678 San Vicente Boulevard

A popular chain restaurant that is quickly expanding across the city, M Café is known for its incredible gluten free breakfasts. From crispy avocado toasts and hearty breakfast burritos to cheesy breakfast enchiladas and buttery pastries, there’s such great variety you’ll want to go again and again! The fabulous café also serves up a drool-worthy selection of gluten free salads, whole grain bowls, noodles and soups later in the day. “The M Chopped” salad is loaded with 13 different gluten free ingredients (including heavenly tamari roasted almonds) and is definitely worth trying!

Real Food Daily

Address: 899 E Del Mar Boulevard

A long-established restaurant that’s been around since the early ‘90s, Real Food Daily serves an entirely plant-based menu with loads of gluten free options to choose from. Their innovative and nutritionally-balanced menu features customisable grain bowls and salads with all kinds of exotic ingredients, plus some incredible street food that sounds do good you’ll want to order it all! The “Jackfruit Street Tacos”, made from gluten free corn tortillas, grilled jackfruit, roasted tomato salads, avocado, pickled purple cabbage and fresh cilantro are one of their most popular dishes.

True Food Kitchen

Address: 395 Santa Monica Place, Suite 172 Santa Monica

Originally designed for the anti-inflammatory diet, the menu at True Food Kitchen includes one of the most extensive ranges of gluten free dishes you’ll find in LA. From the delicious “Inside Out Quinoa Burger” topped with hummus, tzatziki, tomato, cucumber, red onion, avocado and feta cheese to the “Moroccan Chicken” with mission figs, heirloom carrots, chickpeas, olives, spinach, chermoula and Greek yoghurt, there are so many ingenious gluten free dishes to choose from that you definitely won’t feel left out here.

Azla Vegan

Address: 3655 S. Grand Avenue

If you’re in the mood for something a bit more exotic, hit up Azla Vegan. This Ethiopia-inspired restaurant delivers a delightful assortment of vegan gluten free dishes that pack some incredible flavour. The idea is to order a selection of small tapas-size dishes to share amongst the whole table. And with brightly-coloured plates of comforting lentil stews, coconut curries and veggie salads to choose from (plus the most amazing gluten free flatbreads) you’ll have plenty to share with your fellow diners.

Although gluten free restaurants in Los Angeles which are 100% free from gluten have yet to appear, there are still plenty of yummy options out there for anyone avoiding gluten. Most places are incredibly careful when it comes to labelling their menu items, so you’ll know after a quick glance if a restaurant is suitable for you.

Gluten Free Hong Kong
With the city’s culinary scene expanding almost constantly, it’s easier than ever to find good gluten free restaurants in Hong Kong. Click To Tweet

Whether you’re searching for a breakfast croissant, lunchtime salad or some local eats for dinner, print off this list of gluten free restaurants in Hong Kong and you’ll never be stuck for somewhere to go when the hunger pangs strike!

Top 5 gluten free restaurants in Hong Kong

Ali Oli Bakery Cafe

Address: G/F, 11 Sha Tsui Path, Sai Kung

The perfect place to go when you want to treat yourself to a truly decadent breakfast, this cute café serves up a huge range of gluten-free goodies. From savoury sandwiches, bagels and pies to sweet pastries, doughnuts and muffins, you’ll find all the hearty carbs you need to kick-start your day right here. If you’re not much of an early riser, you can swing by later in the day for some gluten-free cakes or pizza.

Green Waffle Diner

Address: Shop 3, G/F, Kar Ho Building, 35-39 Graham Street, Central

Another fantastic place to indulge in a gourmet breakfast, Green Waffle Diner whips up light and fluffy gluten free waffles made from buckwheat flour. Load up your waffle with incredible toppings like whipped cream, cinnamon sugar, fresh dragon fruit and pure maple syrup for the ultimate decadent dish. There’s a wonderful selection of freshly squeezed juices, herbal teas and coffees to wash down your dish, too.

MANA!

Address: G/F, 92 Wellington St, Central

Although it’s mostly popular with foodies in search of yummy vegetarian eats, MANA! also does some of the best gluten free wraps you’ll find in the city. The flatbreads are totally gluten free and baked fresh each morning before being smothered in exotic

za’atar, filled with as many fresh veggies as they can fit in and wrapped up to create a delicious lunch that will definitely keep you full until dinner.

Noodlemi

Address: G/F, 2 Bonham Strand, Sheung Wan

A Vietnamese restaurant that serves up flavour-packed traditional dishes without any gluten, wheat or MSG, Noodlemi is equally ideal for grabbing a quick takeaway lunch in a cute pink to-go box or sitting down to catch up over a laid-back dinner with friends. They’ve got incredible summer rolls stuffed with soft shell crab, dishes of beef simmered with tomato and anise, and a heavenly vanilla berry terrine you’ve absolutely got to leave room for.

Greenwoods Raw Cafe

Address: 13/F, 2 Carnavon Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon

Taking healthy eating to whole new levels, Greenwoods Raw Café serves exclusively gluten free and vegan dishes, with nothing heated above 41°C to keep the nutrition levels of the food as high as possible. Their exciting and creative set menus change every day, but they always start off with their delightful signature green smoothie. Expect to nibble on crisp organic salads, vegan salmon tartare, nori wraps, homemade flax seed crackers, raw cakes and other, innovative eats when you make a reservation.

Now you can pack your bags and grab your passport with confidence. With so many tempting restaurants catering especially for coeliacs and people with a gluten intolerance, you’ve got plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner when you’re gluten free in Hong Kong.

Gluten Free Philippines
Gluten allergy & Celiac disease are unheard of in the Philippines. Good thing the country is abundant in fresh fruits, vegetables and various kinds of seafood. Click To Tweet

The Philippines, being an archipelago, is composed of more than 7,000 islands. Only 2,000 of these islands are inhabited. With the geographic makeup, expect that each group of islands or regions have their own versions of a certain dish.

Spanish, Chinese, Malay and Indian cooking, influence most of the local dishes. The Philippines has strong ties with the US, so it is more westernized than the rest of Southeast Asia. Most people can understand and can speak English well.

Gluten Free Philippines: Is it Friendly to Celiacs and those with Gluten Sensitivity?

Unfortunately, “gluten”, “gluten sensitivity”, “gluten allergy” and “Celiac disease” are unknown to the rest of the country. Either those few who are aware suffers from the condition or a family member does. Some well-travelled lot and those educated abroad might be familiar with Celiac disease and/or gluten free products.

In Manila, the capital city of the Philippines, you would not have any trouble finding gluten free restaurants. Here are several of them.

Corner Tree Café

Address: 150 Jupiter, Makati, 1209 Metro Manila, Philippines

Corner Tree Café is both vegan and gluten free, so you’ll find dishes on their menu either with a (V), (VO) or a (V, GF). They serve gluten free soups, salads, a combination of Western, Mediterranean and Asian main dishes, Filipino dishes, and desserts. They also serve wine and cocktails. Just make sure to inform them that you’re allergic to gluten so they can prepare the cocktails carefully without gluten contamination.

Susi

Address: Forbes Town Center, Burgos Cir, Fort Bonifacio Global City, Taguig, 1634 Metro Manila, Philippines

Susi (key in Filipino) is the first 100% vegan and gluten free restaurant in the Philippines. They serve gluten free appetizers, main courses and desserts. Some of the must-try dishes include the “Carb-No-Nara” (Alfredo pasta), “El Chimichurri” (beet burger with chimichurri),  “Faux Gras” (smoked mushroom pate), “Roygbiv” (colorful salad with homemade Teriyaki dressing), “Emerson” (lentil mushroom loaf with mashed potato and gravy and Ratatouille), and “Quinotto” (teriyaki quinoa risotto).

For desserts, try their “Cacao that Cares” (chocolate pear tart with dark chocolate ganache), “Eat Your Feelings” (dark chocolate cake with walnuts), and the “Berry White” (almond-coconut based strawberry tart).

The Wholesome Table

Address: (BGC branch) 30th St Corner 7th Ave, Bonifacio High Street Central, Taguig, Metro Manila, Philippines

               (Makati branch) GF Infinity Tower, H.V. Dela Costa corner Leviste St, Salcedo Village, Makati, Philippines

The Wholesome Table uses all organic ingredients from local sources. Their menu includes vegetarian (V), vegan (VGN), nut-free (NF), dairy-free (DF) and gluten-free (GF) selections. They serve breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner. They also have gluten free desserts like GF chocolate cake, mango cheesecake, cookies n’ cream cheesecake, yoghurt pannacotta and crème Brulee.

The Wholesome Table has two branches – one in Bonifacio Global Center and the other in Salcedo Village in Makati. Make sure to check the menu on their website as it constantly evolves depending on the availability/ seasonality of ingredients. They also serve pizza, using local ingredients (clams on pizza, anyone?). Too bad, it’s not gluten free pizza, Manila and the rest of the Philippnes would have enjoyed it so much.

 

Edgy Veggy

Address: Brixton St, Pasig, Metro Manila, Philippines

Edgy Veggy is a café that also offers delivery services around Manila. They have gluten free starters, soups, salads, noodles, steaks and main dishes. They also have special menus for those on Ketogenic, Thrive, Keto-Thrive, Vegan-Thrive, Vege-Keto and High Prana diets.

Jertie’s Kitchen

Jertie’s Kitchen is not actually a restaurant. However, they do sell vegan and gluten free cakes, desserts and meals. They often participate in food expos and events and even conduct cooking workshops and wellness seminars. Among their products include brownies, cookies, granola balls and cakes. You can also purchase their products online or in healthy restaurants where they consign their cakes and pastries.

Gluten Free Stores and Brands

In major cities such as Manila and Cebu, there are health shops and major supermarkets carrying gluten free food such as Healthy Options and the US brand Uncle Bob’s. In Manila, there is a gluten free baker, Amores, that sells pre-ordered breads and pastries. There’s also an online store selling gluten free products, Gerald.ph.

Additional information:

There is no direct translation of gluten in Filipino. So it would be best to say “bawal” (not allowed) or “allergic” to harina (flour), toyo (soy sauce), bulgur, oats, broth cubes, tokwa (tofu), tinapay (bread). Pansit or meke (rice noodles) may sometimes contain wheat flour, so avoid eating them to be safe. Steer clear of lumpia (spring rolls) and any dumplings as well.

Note: While plain tofu is generally gluten-free, there are flavoured/ marinated varieties that may contain gluten. Tofu dishes in the Philippines are commonly seasoned with soy sauce.

Most places sell fresh fruits and vegetables. In case you want to go backpacking, you can easily buy them in stalls and farmer’s markets. White rice is a staple and can be bought pretty much anywhere. Be cautious with most Filipino dishes as they commonly contain soy sauce, broth cubes and powdered seasonings. Native Filipino desserts are fairly safe though as they are mostly made from glutinous rice, coconut, coconut milk/cream and cassava.

Is the Philippines on your travel radar? Plan your trip early and stock up on gluten free snacks especially when going on a backpacking trip around the islands. We hope our article on Gluten Free Philippines is of great help to your travel planning.

Gluten Free Alcohol What You Need to Know
There are some alcoholic drinks which you’ll definitely need to avoid when you’re on a gluten free diet, such as beers, stouts, lagers and ales. These drinks are made from derivatives which contain gluten and aren’t safe for those on… Click To Tweet

If you’ve recently been diagnosed with coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance, one of your first questions might be: is there gluten in alcohol? This question isn’t a simple one to answer, as there are so many different types of alcohol available, some of which contain gluten and must be avoided, and some of which are completely, naturally, gluten-free and can be enjoyed! Here’s what you need to know about gluten and alcoholic drinks.

 

What You Need to Know About Alcohol and Gluten

There are some alcoholic drinks which you’ll definitely need to avoid when you’re on a gluten free diet, such as beers, stouts, lagers and ales. These drinks are made from derivatives which contain gluten and aren’t safe for those on a gluten free diet. However, gluten-free varieties are available. You might just need to search for them. However, there are plenty of alcoholic drinks which don’t contain gluten, so you won’t need to skip the bar on your new diet. Here are a few to consider.

 

Naturally Gluten Free Alcohol

Naturally, gluten free alcoholic drinks include cider, wine sherry, port and liqueurs. As spirits are distilled during the manufacturing process, most of these are also naturally gluten free. Even spirits which are made from cereals that contain gluten, for example, whiskeys which are made with barley, are actually gluten free by the time they become spirits, as the distilling process removes any traces of gluten which might otherwise have been in the drink.

Of course, some spirits are derived from ingredients which are naturally gluten free anyway, so there definitely won’t be any gluten in the end product in these cases. The spirits you can enjoy without concern include rum, tequila and vodka, which is made from potatoes.

 

Is There Gluten in Wine?

If you’re a bit of a wine connoisseur you’ll be delighted to learn that wine is typically gluten free, and totally safe for those with intolerances or coeliac disease. The only thing you need to be aware of is that gluten may get into your wine through the ageing process. It’s because winemakers might use gluten ingredients (flour or wheat paste) to seal barrels of wine as they age. This may result in a tiny amount of gluten being present in the end product, which is unlikely to affect those with intolerances but could be enough to make someone with coeliac disease sick.

You’ll need to check if any colourings or flavourings have been added to the wine which might contain gluten – this is something to be aware of particularly if you’re enjoying a glass of dessert wine. However, most wine is absolutely safe for coeliacs and those with intolerances to enjoy – so you won’t need to miss out on that wine tasting!

 

A Gluten-Free Alternative to Beer

If you’re missing beer on your gluten free diet why not try cider instead? Cider is a great alternative to beer, as it’s not brewed with wheat barley or rye – it uses apples instead. Always make sure you check the ingredients of any cider you’d like to try though, as some might not be 100% gluten free.

 

Enjoy Gluten Free Alcohol in Moderation

Remember though, gluten free alcohol still needs to be enjoyed in moderation! That means no more than 14 units per week. Those 14 units are equivalent to six glasses of wine, six pints of gluten free beer, or 14 small shots of gluten free spirits. Cheers to that!

Gluten Free Rome
Good cuisine doesn’t have to be a distant memory for those who suffer from gluten intolerance. Click To Tweet

Rome has a lot to offer its visitors: historically-rich monuments, breathtakingly beautiful architecture, incredible designer fashion and (best of all) deliciously drool-worthy food! Despite being known for its gluten-heavy pasta, pizzas and breads, Rome is an excellent place for coeliac foodies to visit, with a huge number of gluten free restaurants delivering traditional Italian cuisine without the gluten.

Top 5 gluten free restaurants in Rome

Il Viaggio

Address: Via Isonzo, 14

With a mission statement of “Good cuisine doesn’t have to be a distant memory for those who suffer from gluten intolerance”, you know a meal at Il Viaggio is going to be amazing. Both the standard and the gluten free menus offer the same delectable dishes and the kitchen is strict when it comes to using separate utensils to avoid cross-contamination.

Choose from classics such as spaghetti with clams and tiramisu or be adventurous and order veal salad with a sweet mustard sauce followed by sesame salmon with crunchy vegetables. If you want to get more involved, you can even sign up for their gluten-free cooking classes!

La Soffitta Renovatio

Address: Piazza del Risorgimento, 46/A

One of the best gluten free restaurants in Rome for pizza lovers, La Soffitta Renovatio is certified gluten free by the AIC (Associazione Italiana Celiachia) and specialises in thin and crispy Roman-style pizzas.

Other gluten free delights include amazing gnocchi, incredible calzones, a vast selection of antipasti and truly decadent cheesecake. La Soffitta Renovatio is situated just a short distance away from the Sistine Chapel and St Peter’s Square, making it the ideal place to stop for lunch when you’re sightseeing.

Voglia di Pizza

Address: Via dei Giubbonari, 33

Another excellent choice for gluten free pizza, Voglia di Pizza serves up all the traditional types of oven-fired pizza, like Napoli, marinara and Margherita, as well as super-creative pizzas made with exciting, flavour-packed ingredients such as pancetta, German sausages and brie.

There’s also a great selection of gluten free desserts, including an incredibly rich and creamy tiramisu. One of the best things about this restaurant is that the prices are very reasonable and the gluten free pizzas cost the same as the regular ones!

Sans de Blé

Address: Via G. Chiabrera 58/C

When a sweet craving hits, pop into Sans de Blé and pair a deliciously frothy cappuccino with one of their amazing gluten free goodies. From sweet cakes, biscuits, pastries, doughnuts, meringues and tarts to savoury sandwiches, pizza, muffins and bread, this bakery has got everything to give you the extra energy you need to carry on exploring the city. Absolutely everything is gluten free, so you can order whatever you like and not have to worry about the consequences!

Zuma

Address: Palazzo Fendi, Via Della Fontanella di Borghese, 48

One of the more unusual gluten free restaurants in Rome, Zuma serves up a fantastic fusion of Japanese and Italian cuisine. From the fancy décor which combines elegant Japanese design with glamorous Italian cinema to the menu brimming with delights such as roasted lobster with green chilli butter and spicy beef tenderloin with sesame and sweet soy sauce, everything about Zuma is the perfect balance of Asian-Mediterranean and offers a delectable insight into the city’s developing international food scene.

Rome might not be the first destination that comes to mind when you think of travel destinations for anyone avoiding gluten. But the city’s impressive knowledge of coeliac disease and their almost constantly expanding range of gluten free restaurants make being gluten free in Rome easy!

Do I Need Gluten Free Makeup_
Most makeup contain hydrolysed wheat protein which, even though processed, still contains gluten. Click To Tweet

If you have coeliac disease or a sensitivity to gluten, it’s not just food and drinks you need to be careful with – it’s makeup, too. From foundation and primer to eyeshadow and lip gloss, a lot of makeup contains gluten. And since makeup ingredients mostly consist of complex chemical names, it can be tough to tell the difference between gluten free makeup and non-gluten free makeup.

Why do I need gluten free cosmetics?

The easiest way gluten gets into your system through makeup is by using lip products (such as lipstick, lip stain, lip gloss, lip liner, etc.) which contain gluten. You apply the product to your lips in the morning and throughout the rest of the day, you ingest small amounts of it pretty much constantly. And it’s not only through lipstick you to accidentally consume gluten.

It’s almost impossible to put anything on your face without ingesting a small amount. Picture yourself putting on your moisturiser or foundation. Can you be 100% certain you didn’t get even a tiny bit on your lips? We’re betting the answer’s ‘no’.

The risk of consuming gluten through your makeup doesn’t stop after you’ve applied it. If you touch any part of your face while wearing makeup and then eat something shortly after with your hands (without washing them in between) that’s another sure-fire way you’re consuming gluten without meaning to.

You might think to ingest such small amounts of gluten through makeup wouldn’t have any effect, but think about gluten cross-contamination in food. If gluten free food products are so much as made in the same factory as non-gluten free products, they can cause terrible reactions in people who are particularly sensitive to gluten.

The same goes for makeup. Even if the product is entirely gluten free, it can still cause you problems if it’s made in the same factory as makeup which contains gluten.

Is makeup gluten free?

While not all makeup contains gluten or is made in factories with products which contain gluten, the majority of makeup is not gluten free. Most items contain hydrolysed wheat protein which, even though it’s processed, still contains gluten. If you’re following a strictly gluten free diet, it’s really not worth the risk of using makeup that isn’t certified as gluten free.

But don’t worry: the alternative isn’t to go the rest of your life without cosmetics. (Although you might have to ditch your favourite brands if they contain gluten.) The alternative is to find some gluten free cosmetics and gluten free toiletries brands you love and treat yourself to a whole new set of products!

Gluten free makeup brands

As gluten allergies and intolerances are coming more into the public eye, gluten free cosmetics are growing in popularity. Here’s a list of gluten free cosmetics brands that guarantee all their products are completely gluten free and made in environments which contain no gluten:

  • Afterglow Cosmetics
  • Anne Marie Gianni
  • Au Naturale Cosmetics
  • BITE Beauty
  • Ecco Bella
  • Gabriel Cosmetics
  • Keeki Pure & Simple
  • Kiss Freely
  • Pure SKYN
  • Red Apple Lipstick
  • Root Pretty
  • Zuzu Luxe

Do I need gluten free makeup? – Takeaway

If you’re highly sensitive to gluten, the answer is a resounding yes – you do need gluten free makeup. Check out the gluten free cosmetics companies listed above and try out some of their products. Not only will you have the fun of playing around with new makeup, but you’ll also be able to relax, knowing that there’s no way your makeup is negatively affecting your health.

What Alcohol is Gluten Free_

When you’re following a gluten free diet, it’s important to not just think about the food you eat but the drinks you consume, too. While most soft drinks, like juices, pop and water, are safe to have on a gluten free diet because they contain absolutely no gluten at all, things aren’t as straightforward when it comes to alcohol.

This doesn’t mean you have to become a house-bound recluse, avoiding Happy Hour drinks with your co-workers and turning down fun party invites from your friends. You just need to brush up on your knowledge and find out what alcohol is gluten free and safe for you to enjoy as part of a gluten free diet!

Is Beer Gluten Free?

Brace yourself for some bad news, beer drinkers: most beers are not #glutenfree. Click To Tweet Beer is made from hops and barley which are loaded with gluten and not safe for coeliacs or anyone following a gluten-free diet. This applies to almost every type of beer, whether it’s light or dark, local or imported.

But all is not lost! As more and more people embrace a gluten free diet, more breweries are developing great-tasting gluten free beers. Most gluten free beers are still made with hops and barley, but they undergo a special process which removes all the gluten from the finished product.

Other gluten free beers skip the traditional ingredients altogether in favour of gluten-free alternatives such as buckwheat and sorghum. Not only does using these ingredients guarantee that the beer is totally gluten-free, but it also gives the beer a smooth, distinctive taste you don’t get with the standard drink.

Is Cider Gluten Free?

If you can’t get a hold of gluten free beer and you want something fizzy and refreshing, cider is a fantastic alternative. Brewed from apples or pears instead of barley and hops, most ciders are naturally #glutenfree Click To Tweet and are available pretty much everywhere you can buy beer.

Delicious fruity ciders in all kinds of flavours ranging from mixed berries to mango and passionfruit are becoming increasingly popular. And although they taste wonderful, flavoured ciders so sometimes contain gluten. To be on the safe side, double check with your server or barman that the cider you’re ordering is gluten-free or carefully read the label if you’re buying it from a shop.

Is Wine Gluten Free?

Wine is generally #glutenfree but the process can introduce gluten into the final product. Click To Tweet

Just like cider, most wines are also gluten free because they’re made from grapes which contain zero gluten. Although the ingredients that make up wine are gluten free, the process which goes into making wine can sometimes introduce gluten into the final product.

Some types of wines are aged in oak barrels for added flavour. And to stop the wine from seeping out of the barrel, wine producers often use a wheat paste to seal the gaps. This would result in a wine with fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten (the maximum allowed for a product to be classed as gluten free). However, someone with a very sensitive gluten allergy could still experience a reaction.

Other ways that wine can become unsafe on a gluten free diet is when certain colourings or flavourings are added. A great example of this is dessert wine, which is often coloured a deep yellow and sweetened with products that may contain gluten. Overall, for most people following a gluten free diet, wine is considered safe to enjoy.

Are Spirits Gluten Free?

Vodka, rum & tequila are naturally #glutenfree Click To Tweet

Most experts agree that distilled alcoholic drinks, even those made from grains which contain gluten, are safe to consume on a gluten free diet because the gluten is removed during the distillation process.

Are vodka, rum and tequila gluten free?

If you’re not convinced that distilling removes the gluten in spirits, play it safe and only drink vodka, rum or tequila. These spirits are naturally gluten free and therefore totally safe to drink for anyone with coeliac disease, a gluten allergy or a gluten intolerance.

Are whiskey, bourbon and scotch gluten free?

Short answer: yes. Long answer: no. Whiskey, bourbon and scotch are made from ingredients which contain gluten. Click To Tweet But if you believe what the experts say, you can rely on the information that all the gluten is removed during the distillation process, making these spirits safe to drink on a gluten free diet.

Some coeliacs and people with a very high gluten sensitivity report negative reactions to drinking whiskey, bourbon and scotch, while others experience no bad side effects at all. Everyone has different tolerance levels, so if you’ve got a really strong craving for whiskey, bourbon or scotch that simply won’t go away, we recommend you test a very small amount, to begin with and take it from there.

What Alcohol is Gluten Free? – The Final Takeaway

When it comes to gluten free food, it’s always better to be safe than sorry and it’s no different when it comes to gluten free alcohol. If you’re shopping for alcohol, read the label or do your research and look up trusted gluten-free brands before you head out to the shops. If you’re enjoying alcohol in a bar or restaurant, double check with your barman or server that what you’re ordering is gluten-free. That way you’ve got all your bases covered and can enjoy a drink without worrying about what it’s doing to your insides!

Gluten Free Las Vegas USA
Vegas is a city jam-packed with amazing restos & many of these cater for those on #glutenfree diets. Click To Tweet

They say what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas. So, if you’re planning a visit to this epic city in the near future you’ll definitely want to ensure you get the full Vegas experience! And that means no worrying about what you can or can’t eat, right? Thankfully, Vegas is a city jam-packed with amazing restaurants & so many of these cater for those on glutenfree diets. These are a few of our favourite places for eating gluten free in Las Vegas. Of course let’s not forget booze. We’ve included some restaurants offering gluten free beer Las Vegas.

 

The Cracked Egg

With five restaurants in the Las Vegas area, the Cracked Egg is a great place to start your day in this incredible city. The popular breakfast joint has a specific gluten-free menu, and there are tonnes to choose from. Gluten-free breakfasts come with hash browns, seasoned potatoes and gluten free toast. That’s one way to set you up for the day!

Mon Ami Gabi

Head on over to Paris, Las Vegas to enjoy a meal at this quintessentially French restaurant. We recommend Mon Ami Gabi for brunch, but it’s also a beautiful place for a romantic dinner. Dessert is where many a gluten-free traveller loses out, but you definitely won’t here, because there are no less than four gluten free desserts to choose from. We’re still dreaming about the flourless chocolate cake.

Wild at the Ogden

If you’re on the hunt for a gluten free pizza while you’re in Vegas, make your way to Wild. It’s a little out of the way, but it’s definitely worth seeking out this Las Vegas gluten-free restaurant. The pizza crusts are SO good, and you can wash it all down with a great gluten free beer, too.

Margaritaville

A tropical escape on the famous Vegas strip, Margaritaville is a fun restaurant, split over three levels, with no less than five bars! The gluten free menu is extensive and includes indulgent dishes like cheeseburgers, chicken or fish sandwiches and a very tempting brownie sundae.

The Cheesecake Factory

Many restaurants say they offer something for everyone, but this claim is definitely true at the Cheesecake Factory! The restaurant has over 250 menu items to choose from, which could make deciding what to have tricky… There are plenty of gluten free pasta dishes, gluten free buns, gluten free steaks and grills and a whole host of gluten-free desserts too. You might have to go more than once.

El Dorado Cantina

If you find yourself craving Mexican food we can’t recommend El Dorado Cantina highly enough. This family-run Mexican restaurant focuses on great ingredients and big, bold flavours. There are so many gluten free options to choose from, including nachos and salsas, street tacos and signature dishes. Come hungry!

Eatt

West of the Las Vegas Strip you’ll find Eatt, a gourmet French restaurant which prides itself on its healthy, fine dining dishes. The whole menu is clearly labelled with allergens, so you can easily see which gluten free dishes you can choose from. We loved the pot au feu chicken, followed by a very tasty macaron with vanilla cream, apple and cinnamon for dessert.

Veranda

Italian restaurants are typically tricky for gluten free travellers, but Veranda is the exception to the rule. This beautiful Italian is a great place to go to for gluten free breakfast in Las Vegas, as well as gluten-free lunches and dinners. You’ll find gluten free bread, waffles and doughnuts on the hugely popular gluten free sampler plate, as well as gluten free pasta and pizzas later in the day. Indulge yourself!

Joe’s Seafood, Prime Steak and Snow Crab

The snow crab at Joe’s is world famous, and thankfully it’s gluten free too! Joe’s is also known for its juicy steaks and other seafood dishes, like scallops, Alaskan king crab and plenty of exceptional fish dishes. There’s a gluten free menu so you can be assured of some great choices here.

Nobu Caesar’s Palace

Japanese Chef Nobu is renowned throughout the world for his exceptional restaurants, so if you get a chance to have a meal at Nobu you must! Japanese cuisine is great for gluten-free travellers, as so many dishes are naturally gluten free. And of course there’s a gluten free menu here, so you’ll have plenty of amazing dishes to choose from. We’ll see you at the sashimi bar.

—-

Have you visited Las Vegas? Leave us a comment and tell us about your experiences of eating gluten free in Las Vegas, your favourite Las Vegas gluten free restaurants or anywhere else you’d recommend!